About MaritIEm

Initial situation

Freight transport still relies predominantly on vehicles with conventional propulsion technologies and fuels. This leads to a deterioration in air quality with increasing traffic volumes under otherwise identical conditions, especially in port cities, and has local effects on the environment and human health. Sustained or increasing environmental pollution from transports therefore requires prompt steps to reduce greenhouse gases and air pollutants. In addition to regulations in the international and national legal framework, measures taken by the stakeholders involved (ports, terminal operators, shipping companies at both global, national and local levels) must also help to reduce emissions from freight transport and improve the overall sustainability of transport chains.

Freight traffic in a seaport city increases the concentration of air pollutants and of climate gas (e.g. in the box of the emissions), and therefore has a direct impact on environmental and health risks. (Own presentation.)

There is more and more knowledge about freight transport-related emissions and their contribution to air quality. In addition to publications in journals, the below are very good examples in the following fields:

  • the European CEN 16258 standard for the calculation of transport emissions

Objectives

In the MaritIEm research project

  • findings are being created in order to evalutate measures in the maritime transport chains on the basis of the results of emission and concentration calculations

and

  • to reduce the air pollutants and climate gases emitted by the maritime transport chains.

An exemplary calculation and evaluation of the emission and concentration quantities and possible measures for reduction will be carried out within the project based on the ports of Bremen and Bremerhaven.

Implementation

The project is methodically divided into the following four phases:

  1. First, the transport flows are classified according to transport means (sea and inland waterways, freight trains, trucks) and types of goods (containers, cars, bulks, general cargo, etc.), than mapped in a source-destination matrix. Based on this matrix and with the help of known points within the transport chain (e.g. transshipment points, berths, recipients / senders, etc.), the transport routes are determined in a model.
  2. With the help of emission factors and other source group-specific data (topography, diesel class, type of shunting locomotives, power, tidal height, capacity utilisation, etc.), the relevant emissions for the respective transport means are quantified.
  3. The modelling of air pollutant loads requires the consideration of total emission – both from freight transport and from other sources. Source group specific modelling allows the determination of the contribution of maritime transport chains. As a result, concentrations and the contributions of maritime transport chains are determined areally and at selected hotspots.
  4. Selected scenarios will be run in a simulation environment and compared in terms of their impact in order to identify a set of measures that are suitable for an effective reduction of emissions and concentration from maritime freight transport.

Project details

The project MaritIEm is part of the mFUND research initiative of the Federal Ministry of Transport and Digital Infrastructure BMVI.

Project coordinator: Institut for Shipping Economics and Logistics (ISL)

Project partner: IVU Umwelt GmbH (IVU)

Project duration: 06/2020 – 05/2023

News

Presentation – IVU

IVU Umwelt GmbH has been active in the field of air quality for more than 30 years. In 1986, a branch of IVU GmbH was opened to deal with the …

Latest press releases

Climate, Transport & Pollutants

The monthly newsletter of the Association of Industrial Engineers for Transport (VdWT) recently published a technical article on the topic of „Climate, Transport & Pollutants“. The article is a solid …

MaritIEm – a project for greener terminals

MaritIEm – a project for greener terminals The project name “MaritIEm” stands for emission and concentration modelling in maritime transport chains. The project of the Institute of Shipping Economics and …

Über MaritIEm

Ausgangssituation

Beim Gütertransport wird nach wie vor vorwiegend auf Fahrzeuge mit konventionellen Antriebstechniken und Treibstoffen gesetzt. Dies führt bei steigendem Verkehrsaufkommen unter sonst gleichen Bedingungen insbesondere auch in den Hafenstädten zu einer Verschlechterung der Luftqualität und hat auch lokale Auswirkungen auf die Umwelt und die Gesundheit. Eine anhaltende oder steigende Umweltbelastung durch Transporte erfordert deswegen zeitnahe Schritte zur Reduktion der Treibhausgase und Luftschadstoffe. Neben Regelungen im internationalen und nationalen Rechtsrahmen müssen auch Maßnahmen der beteiligten Akteure (Häfen, Terminalbetreiber, Reedereien sowohl auf globaler als auch auf nationaler und lokaler Ebene) dazu beitragen, die Emissionen des Gütertransports zu senken und die Nachhaltigkeit der Transportkette insgesamt zu verbessern.

Der durch den Gütertransport erzeugte Verkehr in einer Seehafenstadt erhöht die Konzentration der Luftschadstoffe und der Klimagase (z. B. im Kästchen der Emission) und hat damit direkte Auswirkungen auf Umwelt- und Gesundheitsrisiken. (Eigene Darstellung.)

Es gibt immer mehr Erkenntnisse zu gütertransportbedingten Emissionen und ihrem Beitrag zur Luftqualität. Neben Veröffentlichungen in Fachjournalen sind folgende Quellen sehr gute Beispiele im Bereich:

  • die europäische CEN 16258 Norm für die Berechnung der Transportemissionen

Projektziel

Im Forschungsprojekt MaritIEm werden Erkenntnisse erarbeitet,

  • um Maßnahmen in der maritimen Transportketten auf Basis der Ergebnisse von Emissions- und Immissionsberechnungen zu bewerten

und

  • die durch die maritime Transportkette emittierten Luftschadstoffe und Klimagase zu reduzieren.

Eine exemplarische Berechnung und Bewertung der Emissions- und Immissionsmengen und eventueller Maßnahmen zur Reduzierung wird im Rahmen des Projekts anhand der Häfen in Bremen und Bremerhaven durchgeführt.

Durchführung

Das Projekt ist methodisch in die folgenden vier Phasen unterteilt:

  1. Zuerst werden die Transportströme nach Transportmitteln (See- und Binnenschiff, Güterzug, LKW) und Güterarten (Container, Auto, Massengut, Stückgut, etc.) klassifiziert und in einer Quelle-Ziel-Matrix abgebildet. Anhand dieser Matrix und mithilfe bekannter Glieder der Transportkette (z.B. Umschlagspunkte, Liegeplätze, Empfänger/Versender, etc.) werden anschließend die Transportwege in einem Modell ermittelt.
  2. Mithilfe von Emissionsfaktoren sowie weitere quellengruppenspezifischer Daten (z.B. Topographie, Dieselklasse, Art von Rangierlokomotiven, Leistung, Tidenhöhe, Auslastung, usw.) werden die relevanten Emissionen der jeweiligen Transportmittel quantifiziert.
  3. Die Modellierung von Luftschadstoffbelastungen erfordert die Betrachtung der gesamten Emissionen – sowohl aus dem Güterverkehr als auch aus anderen Quellen. Quellengruppenspezifische Modellierungen ermöglichen die Bestimmung des Anteils der maritimen Transportketten. Als Ergebnis werden Immissionen und der Beitrag der maritimen Transportketten flächenhaft und an ausgewählten Hotspots dargestellt.
  4. Ausgewählte Szenarien werden in einer Simulationsumgebung durchgespielt und hinsichtlich ihrer Wirkung verglichen, um eine Menge von Maßnahmen zu identifizieren, die für eine wirkungsvolle Reduzierung der Emissionen bzw. Immissionen durch die maritimen Güterverkehr geeignet sind.

Projektsteckbrief

MaritIEm ist ein Projekt im Rahmen der Forschungsinitiative mFUND des Bundesministeriums für Verkehr und digitale Infrastruktur BMVI.

Verbundkoordinator: Institut für Seeverkehrswirtschaft und Logistik (ISL)

Projektpartner: IVU Umwelt GmbH (IVU)

Projektlaufzeit: 06/2020 – 05/2023

News

Vorstellung – IVU

Die IVU Umwelt GmbH ist seit über 30 Jahren auf dem Gebiet der Luftreinhaltung tätig. 1986 wurde eine Niederlassung der IVU GmbH eröffnet, die sich mit der Modellierung von Umweltdaten …

Aktuelle Pressemitteilungen

Klima, Transport & Schadstoffe

Im monatlichen Newsletter des Vereins der Wirtschaftsingenieure der Transportwesen (VdWT) wurde kürzlich ein Fachartikel zum Thema „Klima, Transport & Schadstoffe“ veröffentlicht. Der Artikel ist eine solide Grundlage, um die Hintergründe …

MaritIEm – ein Projekt für grünere Terminals

MaritIEm – a project for greener terminals Der Projektname „MaritIEm“ steht für die Emissions- und Immissionsmodellierung in maritimen Transportketten. Das Projekt des Instituts für Seeverkehrswirtschaft und Logistik (ISL) und der …